Uasreno 2015 logo1 300x64 220x47

UAS Industry Leaders Participating in UAS MAPPING 2015 RENO

Uasreno 2015 logo1 300x64 220x47The second annual UAS technical symposium sponsored the ASPRS announces the industry leaders in the UAS commercial industry who are confirmed for UAS MAPPING 2015 RENO!  The program uniquely includes test course flights, data processing workshops, live demonstration, and a strong technical program focused on “best practice” for collection and processing of data from UAS.

[Read More]
Uasreno 2015 logo1 300x64

Symposium Program Announced for UAS MAPPING 2015 Reno

Uasreno 2015 logo1 300x64The symposium program is announced for the second annual technical UAS MAPPING 2015 RENO symposium sponsored by the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS).  The dates of the conference are September 29 & 30, 2015 at the Reno Ballroom in downtown Reno, Nevada.  In addition to the technical symposium, ASPRS is also sponsoring a workshop on UAS Data Processing on Monday, September 28, 2015.

The symposium is focused on UAS mapping and this year’s program is organized to provide the latest information on UAS technology and software development as well as looking at ancillary issues that impact the UAS mapping industry.

[Read More]
Morton VP

ASPRS Elects Rebecca Morton as Vice President

Morton VPThe results of the 2015 election have been tallied by the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) Tellers Committee and finalized that, Rebecca Morton, GeoWing Mapping, Inc., won the election to become ASPRS Vice President for 2015. With the installation of officers at the IGTF 2015 – ASPRS Annual Conference in May, E. Lynn Usery moves into the position of President; Charles Toth becomes President-Elect, and Stewart Walker becomes Past President.

Rebecca Morton is President and CEO of GeoWing Mapping, Inc. (GeoWing), based in San Francisco, California. She founded the company in January of 2015 with the goal of offering both traditional photogram-metric mapping services as well as services related to unmanned aircraft systems (UAS). Her interest in UAS photogrammetry began several years before she started her company. She was impressed by the accessi-bility of the new technology and for the first time, she could consider integrating and flying her own mapping cameras!

[Read More]

ASPRS Outstanding Technical Achievement Award, Outstanding Service Awards and Region Award Winners

BETHESDA, Md., June 2, 2015 – The American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) proudly announces the 2015 Outstanding Technical Achievement Award to Tom Barclay for the development of the Microsoft TerraServer. Stewart Walker, immediate Past President, presented Barclay with a silver plaque and a monetary grant at the IGTF 2015 – ASPRS Annual Conference in Tampa, Florida, along with a number of other Service, Conference Management and Membership awards.

OTAAwardBarclay is currently partner architect and development manager of Bing Imagery Technologies and the Bing Search team at Microsoft. He has been with Microsoft Corporation since 1994 and was the lead researcher on Microsoft TerraServer.  Prior to his career at Microsoft, Barclay was a software consultant with Digital Equipment Corporation from 1976 to 1994.  Barclay is interested in database design, scientific computing, and data mining.

[Read More]

ASPRS Announces 2015 Award Winners

BETHESDA, Md., May 2, 2015 – The American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) and the ASPRS Foundation proudly announce J. B. Sharma as the recipient of the Leidos/Estes Memorial Teaching Award and Professor George Vosselman as the recipient of the Photogrammetric (Fairchild) Award. These and other awards were presented at  the IGTF 2015 – ASPRS Annual Conference and co-located JACIE Workshop in Tampa, Florida, May 4 through 8, 2015. 

J.B.sharma Sharma Winner of Leidos/ Estes Memorial Teaching Award

This year’s recipient of the Leidos/ Estes Memorial Teaching Award is J.B. Sharma. Sharma is a faculty member at the University of North Georgia (UNG), and is the Assistant Head of the Department of Physics.

[Read More]