ASPRS Announces Russell G. Congalton as 2012 SAIC Estes Memorial Teaching Award Winner

Russell G. Congalton, a Professor of Remote Sensing and Geographic Information Systems at the University of New Hampshire, has been named as the recipient of the 2012 SAIC Estes Memorial Teaching Award.

The SAIC Estes Memorial Teaching Award was inaugurated in 2003 and is named in honor of Professor John E. (“Jack”) Estes, teacher, mentor, scientist, and friend of the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS). This award is designed to recognize individual achievement in the promotion of remote sensing and GIS technology, and applications through educational efforts.  Award recipients are chosen based on documented excellence in education, teaching, mentoring and training.  The recipient receives a presentation plaque and a $2,000 cash award

Congalton’s research focuses on spatial data uncertainty, accuracy analysis, and the application of remote sensing methods to natural resource science issues.  Congalton has a long history of achievement in educational aspects of remote sensing and other geospatial science areas. 

In addition to his university teaching responsibilities and graduate advising in remote sensing and GIS, Congalton served as the Land Cover Principal Investigator for the NSF GLOBE Program, as the ASPRS National Workshop Director, and currently serves as Editor in Chief of Photogrammetric Engineering and Remote Sensing (PE&RS).  Other editorial work incudes Associate Editorship of Remote Sensing and GIS and previously, the Northern Journal of Applied Forestry

Congalton has been very involved in the leadership of ASPRS, serving in several senior positions in the Society at both the National and Regional levels. He served as President in 2004-2005 and was elected as a Fellow of ASPRS in 2007. Congalton is the recipient of numerous professional awards, including ASPRS Presidential Citations, Outstanding Service Awards, several Best Paper awards, and the University of New Hampshire Graduate Faculty Mentor Award.

The Award, with funding provided by Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC) through the ASPRS Foundation, will be presented on Wednesday, March 21 at the ASPRS 2012 Annual Conference in Sacramento, California.

Posted 2-6-12