Honorary Members

Honorary Members are individuals who are recognized for having rendered distinguished service to ASPRS and/or who have attained distinction in advancing the science and use of the mapping sciences such as photogrammetry, remote sensing, surveying, geographic information systems, and related disciplines.

The life-long Honorary Member Award is given for professional excellence and for service to ASPRS. The total number of Honorary Members may not exceed twenty-five at any given time, and no more than two will be elected in one year.

No application is required since the nominees are determined by a Selection Committee.  Candidates must be nominated by an active member, recommended by the Honorary Member Nominating Committee, and elected by a two-thirds vote of all members of the ASPRS Board of Directors.