2017 Award Winners

ASPRS Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award Clive Fraser Russell G. Congalton The Photogrammetric Fairchild Award Lewis Graham ASPRS Outstanding Technical Achievement Award (OTAA) Google Earth Engine Team Developers: Rebecca Moore, Matt Hancher, Noel Gorelick, Mike Dixon, Simon Ilyushchenko, and David Thau ASPRS Fellow Award Qassim A. Abdullah Jie Shan ASPRS Outstanding Service Award Qassim Abdullah Lewis Graham Karen Schuckman Alan Stevens Robert N. Colwell Memorial Fellowship Chunyuan Diao Francis H. Moffitt Memorial Scholarship Kyle Mischler Presidential Citations ASPRS Headquarters Staff; Matthew Austin, Rae Kelley, Priscilla Weeks and Jesse Winch Clifford Greve Roberta Lenczowski Birdseye Citation Charles Toth ASPRS Conference Management Awards Conference Director, Karen Schuckman Technical Program Director, Jerome J. Lenczowski Workshop Coordinator, Amr Abd-Elrahman Robert E. Altenhofen Memorial Scholarship Fangning He Abraham Anson Memorial Scholarship Ryan Jackson John O. Behrens Institute for Land Information (ILI) Memorial Scholarship Shan Yu Chuan William A. Fischer Memorial Scholarship Yanjun Su Leica Scholarship Su Zhang The Kenneth J. Osborn Memorial Scholarship Stephen Castillo Ta Liang Memorial Award Caren Remillard Paul R. Wolf Memorial Scholarship Aryn Cowley Boeing Award for Best Scientific Paper in Image Analysis and Interpretation ​Yan Li, Lin Zhu, Kikuo Tachibana, Hideki Shimamura, and Manchun Li for “Morphological House Extraction from Digital Surface Model and Imagery of High-Density Residential Areas,” PE&RS, 82 (1), 21. The John I. Davidson President’s Award for Practical Papers 1st Place: John W. Gross and Benjamin W. Heumann for “A Statistical Examination of Image Stitching Software Packages for Use with Unmanned Aerial Systems” PE&RS 82 (6), 419. 2nd Place: Fangning He and Ayman Habib for “Automated Relative Orientation of UAV-Based Imagery in the Presence of Prior Information for the Flight Trajectory,” PE&RS, 82 (11), 879. 3rd Place: Jay M. Vincelli, Fatih Calakli, Michael A. Stone, Graham E. Forrester, Timothy D. Mellon, and John D. Jarrell for “Characterizing a Debris Field Using Digital Mosaicking and CAD Model Superimposition from Underwater Video,” PE&RS, 82 (3), 223. The Esri Award for Best Scientific Paper in GIS Berdien De Roo, Britt Lonneville, Jean Bourgeois, and Philippe De Maeyer for “From Virtual Globes to ArcheoGIS: Determining the Technical and Practical Feasibilities,” PE&RS, 82 (9), 677. The Talbert Abrams Award Grand Award: Dan Liu, Xuejun Liu, and Meizhen Wang for “Camera Self-Calibration with Lens Distortion from a Single Image,” PE&RS, 82 (5), 325. First Honorable Mention Yi-Hsing Tseng, Yung-Chuan Chen, and Kuan-Ying Lin for “Bundle Adjustment of Spherical Images Acquired with a Portable Panoramic Image Mapping System (PPIMS),” PE&RS, 82 (12),935.