Estes Memorial Teaching Award

The Leidos (formerly SAIC) Estes Memorial Teaching Award is made in honor of Professor John E. (“Jack”) Estes teacher mentor scientist and friend of the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS). This Award is presented by ASPRS through the ASPRS Foundation with funding provided by Leidos.

The purpose of the Award is to recognize individual achievement in the promotion of remote sensing and geographic information systems (GIS) technology and applications through educational efforts. The Award provided by Leidos consists of a presentation plaque and a cash award of $2,000.

Eligibility to receive the Award is not restricted to members of ASPRS and is intended for those who qualify. Nominations are made by the Selection Committee and are also solicited from active members of ASPRS including representatives from ASPRS’s Regions.  Nominations are based on the following criteria:

  • Education teaching mentoring and training in the areas of remote sensing and GIS shall have or had a significant role in the nominee’s professional duties.
  • Nominee’s shall have documented excellence in education teaching mentoring and training.
  • The successful candidate(s) shall have demonstrated commitment to the advancement of student learning in remote sensing and GIS.