ASPRS 2014 Outstanding Service Award Winners

BETHESDA Md. May 6 2014 — The American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) proudly announces the following 2014 Outstanding Service Award Winners:  

Clifford W. Greve PhD CP for his endowment of the Outstanding Technical Achievement Award and his foresight in establishing the award.

Lewis Graham for his leadership in establishing and leading the Lidar Division and sustained efforts to enhance the LAS file format specification as a geospatial industry standard.

David Alvarez for this leadership in establishing periodic GIS Division teleconferences and initiating a web-based seminar series with co-sponsorship from CaGIS and GLIS.

Roger E. Crystal for his sustained efforts as Membership Development Coordinator.

William G. Hemple for his long-term leadership and professionalism as Chair memorial Address Committee.

The ASPRS Outstanding Service Award was established in 1991. It is given to society members in recognition of outstanding and unusual efforts in helping ASPRS develop and carry out its program over a sustained period. Recipients have performed outstanding service at the chapter regional or national level. Awardees’ services include any activities including professional that have helped the society achieve its goals and objectives.

The award consists of a bronze plaque.  These awards were presented in March at the 2014 Annual ASPRS Conference in Louisville.

Additional awards made during the ASPRS 80th Annual Conference and administered by the ASPRS Foundation were:

Ford Bartlett Award
Recipients: Steven P. Lennartz – Potomac Region Karen L. Schuckman – Potomac Region and Xiaojun Yang – Florida Region

SAIC/Estes Memorial Teaching Award
Winner:  James B. Campbell PhD Professor of Geography Virginia Tech University Blacksburg Virginia

 Outstanding Workshop Instructor Award
 Winner:  Sorin C. Popescu PhD

# # # #

Founded in 1979 The ASPRS Foundation Inc. is an independent 501(c)3 organization established to provide grants scholarships loans and other forms of aid to individuals or organizations pursuing knowledge of imaging and geospatial information science and technology and their applications across the scientific governmental and commercial sectors.  The Foundation is the primary funding source for all non-sponsored awards and scholarships recognized by the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing.