Pecora ISPRS IAG Joint Symposium Presents Prestigious Awards

BETHESDA Md. January 7 2015 – The United States Geological Survey (USGS) and the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) presented a number of prestigious awards during the Pecora 19 Symposium in conjunction with the Joint Symposium of ISPRS Technical Commission I and IAG Commission 4 in Denver Colorado November 17 – 20 2014.  

On Tuesday November 18th Dr. Frank Kelly Director USGS EROS presented the 2014 William T. Pecora Awards. The William T. Pecora Award is presented annually to individuals or groups that make outstanding contributions toward understanding the Earth by means of remote sensing. The award is sponsored jointly by the Department of the Interior (DOI) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).

2014 Group Award – Landsat 8 Team – For outstanding contributions toward understanding the Earth’s land surface and surrounding coastal regions.
Landsat 8 TeamThe Landsat Data Continuity Mission was successfully launched on February 11 2013. Renamed Landsat 8 on May 30 2013 this mission continues the goals established by William Pecora and other visionaries 50 years ago. The Landsat 8 Team consisting of NASA USGS and industry partners has performed at the highest levels from the beginning of mission development to the present.


2014 Individual Award – Christopher Owen Justice Ph. D – For outstanding contributions toward understanding thePecoraAwardee Justice Earth by means of remote sensing.Dr. Justice Professor and Chair of Geographical Sciences University of Maryland has dedicated his career to remote-sensing education research and service. Dr. Justice has advanced remote sensing science contributed to a better understanding of the changing Earth and enriched the lives of many of today’s leading remote-sensing scientists as an advisor educator and research director.   

The ISPRS Foundation awards travel grants to support student and young professional travel to various ISPRS conferences throughout the year. The Foundation has presented a total of $29,000 to 29 students and young professionals who attended eight symposia throughout the Midterm year in 2014. The ISPRS Technical Commission I awarded three individuals on Wednesday November 19th in Denver Colorado. Their awards totaled over $4,000.

ISPRSAwardeesDr. Marguerite Madden ISPRS Second Vice President University of Georgia presented ISPRS Technical Commission I travel grant awards to:
Mr. James (Kenny) Ogunmola Ph.D. student in the Department of Geosciences University of Lagos and Principal Scientific Officer with the National Centre from Remote Sensing in Jos Nigeria
Mr. Jin Tang Ph.D., Student Wuhan University Wuhan Hubei China
Mr. Rizwan Ahmed Ansari Ph.D. student at the Center of Studies in Resources Engineering Indian Institute of Technology Bombay Mumbai India

Congratulations to all of the awardees at the Pecora 19 Symposium in conjunction with the Joint Symposium of ISPRS Technical Commission I and IAG Commission 4.

Photos taken at the Symposium are available for purchase: